Multiplying & Dividing Monomials

A monomial is a single term. For example, 3x, -5xy and 7 are all monomials. When multiplying and dividing monomials, it’s a helpful to write the problem in expanded form. a^2*a^3 = a*a*a*a*a = a^5. (That looks weird. I’ll be happy when blogging supports math software!)

For a quick reteach of multiplying and dividing monomials, check out this video. It also discusses common pitfalls to avoid. [YouTube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6T1BtXKZbs]

12 Comments »

  1. skyler said

    I enjoyed your video and now know how to tell the difference between the two.

  2. Peter said

    This video helped me understand expponents so much better. I had forgotten most of it from about a month ago but now I completely understand

  3. Angela said

    I totally love this video it would be great if u were my teacher because when my teacher teaches she confuses me and it takes her like an hour to say all that you said in 3 min and 41 seconds well thank you for the help.

  4. Sarah said

    This video really helped, i was sick for 3 days and missed out on some of this @ skool, so i was confused, but this really helped. it was really quick and easy and helped me realize what i was doing wrong.
    Sarah

  5. jessica said

    this really helped me alot. cause my teacher teaches thing to complicated.

  6. kacy said

    Ok this helps alot better than it ever has before cause i didnt understand any of it but now i do and im happy i do cuz it explains everything in a better and easier way 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love Ya

  7. nEro said

    Ok this helps alot better than it ever has before cause i didnt understand any of it but now i do and im happy i do cuz it explains everything in a better and easier way 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love Ya

  8. ak said

    This video really helped, i was sick for 3 days and missed out on some of this @ skool, so i was confused, but this really helped. it was really quick and easy and helped me realize what i was doing wrong.
    Sarah

  9. ak said

    #

    I enjoyed your video and now know how to tell the difference between the two.
    #
    Peter said,

    December 22, 2006 @ 1:20 am

    This video helped me understand expponents so much better. I had forgotten most of it from about a month ago but now I completely understand
    #
    Angela said,

    January 26, 2007 @ 8:03 pm

    I totally love this video it would be great if u were my teacher because when my teacher teaches she confuses me and it takes her like an hour to say all that you said in 3 min and 41 seconds well thank you for the help.
    #
    Sarah said,

    December 2, 2007 @ 10:35 pm

    This video really helped, i was sick for 3 days and missed out on some of this @ skool, so i was confused, but this really helped. it was really quick and easy and helped me realize what i was doing wrong.
    Sarah
    #
    jessica said,

    March 10, 2008 @ 4:38 pm

    this really helped me alot. cause my teacher teaches thing to complicated.
    #
    kacy said,

    March 11, 2008 @ 8:03 pm

    Ok this helps alot better than it ever has before cause i didnt understand any of it but now i do and im happy i do cuz it explains everything in a better and easier way 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love Ya
    #
    nEro said,

    November 13, 2008 @ 12:55 am

    Ok this helps alot better than it ever has before cause i didnt understand any of it but now i do and im happy i do cuz it explains everything in a better and easier way 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love Ya
    #
    ak said,

    November 13, 2008 @ 12:57 am

    This video really helped, i was sick for 3 days and missed out on some of this @ skool, so i was confused, but this really helped. it was really quick and easy and helped me realize what i was doing wrong.
    Sarah

  10. gore said

    lol

  11. Hi! I’ve been following your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

  12. I all the time used to study article in news papers but now as I am a user of web so from now I am using net for articles, thanks to web.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

