Fractions to Decimals Song

Here’s a Math 7 classic song, “Fractions to Decimals.” Feel free to sing along at home.

The key to changing fractions to decimals is that you need to understand what the decimals mean. For example, 0.9 is 9 tenths, 0.07 is 7 hundredths and  0.103 is one hundred three thousandths. If you’re not solid with this skill, come in and get help.

Decimals to Fractions Song
Decimals to Fractions
Decimals to Fractions
Say it. Write it. Simplify it.

– Sing to “We Will We Will Rock You” by Queen
Lyrics by Yours Truly, Ms. Newburn

10 Comments »

  1. Marsha said

    This is positively brillant. As a fellow math teacher who is struggling along with this concept, I owe you $1,000,000 for this clever, fun and completely mathematically accurate teaching trick!!!!

    AND

    Thank you for sharing all the others.. I follow you through my Bloglines account and think you’re right where so many kids need to be…instructionally speaking.

  2. Paula Thompson said

    I really enjoyed the YouTube Decimals to Fractions production. One of my musical math colleagues shared this site with me. I particularly liked its simplicity. Because of this, I think that it may inspire some others to come up with some ditties of their own (plus it just looked really fun!) I know that I will be sharing the video at workshops. Keep on inspiring!

  3. Jackson L. said

    yo Ms. Newburn!
    Great singing! I was a little sketchy on the concept of decimals to fractions, but now I am up to date! One complaint though… I couldn’t fall asleep for a long time because the song was stuck in my head!

  4. beanie said

    omg this song doesnt help you

  5. GRATEFUL MOM said

    Ms Newburn you are platinum ,,,,I am a parent of an 8th grader who was very frustrated trying to understand changing decimal to a fraction until we came across your song ,she & I both were so excited as we immediately “got it”,, YOU ARE AN EXCELLENT TEACHER!!!!.. thanks

    we await your next “hit ” ( fractions to decimals) ;o)

  6. Thanks so much for this catchy tune! My kids love it and it makes it so easy!

  7. I know this web site presents quality depending content and additional data, is there any other website which offers these things in quality?

  8. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on debt services.

    Regards

  9. Thanks to my father who shared with me regarding this website, this website is really awesome.

  10. Cory said

    Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are
    just too excellent. I actually like what you have acquired right here, certainly
    like what you’re stating and the best way in which you
    say it. You’re making it entertaining and you continue to
    take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to learn much
    more from you. That is really a terrific website.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

