How to Create a Labyrinth

Check out this site by the Labyrinth society. It shows how to draw the classic Cretan labyrinth that we drew in class today that has 7 circles. It also shows how to do a 3 and 15 circle labyrinth. Cool.

You may also be interested in looking at some of the other pages, such as what is a labyrinth? and the types of labyrinths. (Click on the right side bar to go to the different types.) You can also see some of the beautiful creations from my friend Alex Champion, including the Cretan labyrinth and Flowerwand that I walked this past weekend.

The picture below shows the Peace Labyrinth that my friends and I built in my backyard.

Labyrinth

10 Comments »

  1. Charlotte said

    Cool I wish i had enough room in my yard for a labrinth

  2. Jackson L. said

    That is really cool! I tried to make a giant Labrinth on the beach, but a wave deystroyed it before I could try it

  3. Nancy said

    I absolutely love your Labyrinth! I am trying to get ideas to make my own in my backyard. If you have any ideas on stones, gravel or sand, etc. please feel free to pass them on.

  4. Joachim said

    I have created quite a few labyrinth outdoors. The latest is what I call the 5min sand labyrinth. Why wait for someone to build one or for an organization to do a public labyrinth.

    Anytime I want to do a walk I go out to the park; if my labyrinth is washed out I recreate it in 5 minutes and it is all back.

    See my silde show documenting the Labyrinth in Watsessing Park in Bloomfield, NJ at:

    http://www.slide.com/r/wA9d5F1rjT-ZmRHZp0WdRmg6yEPrngAo?view=original

    or to to Yahoo forum I have set up for it at:

    http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/watsessingheightslabyrinth/

    Joachim

  5. […] Newburn presents How to Create a Labyrinth posted at Ms. Newburn’s Math 7 Blog, saying, “Labyrinths are a wonderful way to connect […]

  6. susan lang said

    Hi, your labyrinth is beautiful. Can you tell me the dimensions of it and how big your back yard is? Thanks.

  7. Debra Maxwell said

    I am asking permission to use the Peace Labyrinth graphic that you posted on March 6, 2007 “How to Create a Labyrinth” for an article that I am writing with Dr. Barbara Michels and Ching-Wen Chang (Missouri State University) on “Labyrinths, Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow – Implications for Education” to be published by the Academy for Educational Studies.
    Please respond.
    Thanks!

  8. bellsontour said

    Thank you for your post, it’s a great start to creating one as a community!

  9. I was suggested this website through my cousin. I am not certain whether this submit is written via him as no one else recognise such targeted approximately my problem. You are amazing! Thanks!

  10. Sue said

    Could you give the dimensions please?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

